Still Another Story About The Medium Writers Challenge

Gail Gauthier
5 min readOct 23, 2021

Maybe I Won’t Write About Martial Arts Again

Photo by G. Gauthier

In September I posted some information on my blog, Original Content, about changes coming to Medium’s partnership/payment program. Otherwise, it looks as if I haven’t done an update there on my publishing experiences on Medium since March. I did publish a couple more humor pieces on Medium this summer, which deserve their own post at some point. However, today’s subject at Original Content was the Medium Writers Challenge, which took place in August with winners and honorable mention essays announced in the last week or so.

In short, the challenge was a contest. There were four writing prompts, which might also be considered categories. I entered two essays, one for each of two prompts. Won nothing.

Generally Speaking

However, this was a positive experience because:

  • I completed an essay I’d started a couple of years ago and revised a second one. Finishing things is always good.
  • I did this work in a timely fashion.
  • My work was published at two more Medium publications, which means that I now have a connection with them and can submit to them again.
  • Taking part in the challenge got me two more essays on Medium, and, supposedly, the…

--

--